Roland Garros history and bettin guide

Roland Garros history and bettin guide

The Roland Garros tournament did not always have this name, it was created in France in 1891 and was known as Championnat de France. At that time, only French clubs took part in the competition. One of the oldest events in the competition, Roland Garros is one of the most traditional championships in international tennis. This makes it a must for all bettors.

In 1924, the tournament opened its doors to the world and summoned international athletes to compete. It was then that the name Roland Garros appeared, in honour of a very important pilot in the First World War.

The event is one of the oldest components of the Grand Slam, second only to Wimbledon. Big names such as Chris Evert, Rafael Nadal and Björn Borg have participated in the competition bringing great visibility to the sport.

Overview of the event

Roland Garros history

Since 1924, the tournament is one of the four competitions that make up the Grand Slam. Traditionally, it takes place in the middle of May and lasts until the first half of June.

During this time, competitions are held in 3 different categories: professional, junior and wheelchair. All competitions are male and female, and the professional games also feature mixed teams.

The type of court is gravel, which slows down the ball and makes it bounce higher. Tennis players who are positioned at the back of the court have an advantage.

Unlike other tennis championships, Roland Garros has no tie break. The matches can be very long, a great example is the match between Fabrice Santoro and Arnaud Clement that lasted 6 hours 33 minutes.

Top players

Roland Garros bettin guide

Rafael Nadal

Favourite in matches and one of the greatest record holders in tennis history, Rafael Nadal is a legend of the courts. The player boasts great experience on clay and has lost only 208 of his 1027 matches.

Novak djokovic

The Serbian has won 20 Grand Slam titles and is tied with Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer for the number of titles won. Djokovic currently holds the No. 1 position in the ATP ranking and is considered one of the best players in the world.

Roger Federer

Even though he has been off the court for a while, the Swiss continues to be one of the players to accumulate more Grand Slam titles. Among the other opponents in the competition, Federer has the most experience and has not won more victories because of his knees.

Ashleigh Barty

Being the current top 1 in the ATP Ranking, Ashleigh is one of the most skilled tennis players in the scene. Her agility on court allows her to move quickly from side to side securing the rebound of the ball in most shots.

Naomi Osaka

The Japanese competitor amazes the world with her performance on court and her powerful shots are recognised by all her opponents. A hard floor specialist, Osaka has won 7 titles in her career, including 4 grand slams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *